The FIA have released details of the ten rally drivers from around the world who have been nominated for the Young Driver Excellence Academy. A total of 30 young drivers from both rallying and circuit racing have been nominated for the Academy, from which 18 will be selected to be a part of the 2012 program.

Australia's top international rally driver, Brendan Reeves, has been nominated in the prestigious group, as have four of his fellow WRC Academy Cup competitors, Craig Breen (Ireland), Timo Van der Marel (Holland), Sepp Wiegard (Germany) and Ashley Haigh-Smith (South Africa). The other five rally drivers are Marius Aasen (Norway), Jose Andres Montalto (Costa Rica), Thierry Neuville (Belgium), Andrea Nucita (Italy) and Pontus Tideman (Sweden).

All Young Driver Excellence Academy nominees will attend a selection camp in Austria in November with the 18 drivers chosen to participate in workshops in various European locations throughout late 2011 and 2012.

The FIA Institute programme is designed to prepare the most talented young drivers to compete at the pinnacle of their sport, while improving driver and road safety skills, fairness and responsibility.